Many Ways of Seeing

I’ve been wearing glasses since I was 3. I don’t even remember getting them. When you’re 3, how do you even know you need glasses? My mom said that my day care teachers said I used to move myself really close during story time to see the pictures. That must have been the first clue.  Glasses have become a part of my life and a part of my body in a sense. Without them, I wouldn’t be able to see anything further than a couple inches from my face. I guess you could say my vision is pretty bad, with my corrective prescription being -14 in each eye, I am pretty nearsighted.

I’ve gone through about 11 different pairs of glasses, getting new ones every couple years. Below is a picture of some of the past ones I’ve worn. The others have been donated to other nearsighted kids! Anyway, this week I am going in for PRK surgery or Photorefractive keratectomy. Basically it’s a laser eye surgery procedure similar to LASEK, but doesn’t have the quick recovery time. The doc says my vision will fluctuate between blurry and blind for a week after surgery, so that’s something to look forward to. Compared to PRK, LASEK’s recovery is usually the next day or so. I wasn’t an ideal candiate for LASEK because I literally didn’t have enough eye for them to laser. PRK has been practiced much longer and more eye doctors prefer this surgery because it’s safer. If you’re wondering… yes I am scared, but at the same time, I can’t imagine the feeling of waking up in the morning and not reaching for my glasses right away. Also… does this mean I need to change my logo? I guess it’ll be like the Bacardi logo at this point…

Leave a Reply

