Reubens Around the World: Typography Studies

Let me start off by saying that Reubens are by far, my favorite sandwich. If I was stranded on an island and I could only pick one food, it would probably be a Reuben. Why? Ummm, maybe because they are the perfect combination of delicious and awesome! If you’re unfamiliar with what a Reuben is, it’s normally characterized by corned beef, sauerkraut, swiss cheese, and russian dressing melted between 2 toasted slices of rye bread. Sounds great, right? Lately I’ve also been thinking that I need a web design project added to my graphic design portfolio, so I figured I would make one dedicated to Reuben lovers.

Yesterday I purchased the domain name ReubensAroundTheWorld.com from Bluehost. This website will focus on reviewing Reubens around the world. In addition to coding and designing this website myself, I will also be hooking it up to WordPress as my content managing system. I’m doing it this way because I’m planning on having contributing reviewers from all over and they will need to be able to upload their reviews with ease. I know there are sites out there like this already, but mine will be different. How? well that’s something you’re going to have to find out in my next post!

Anyway, below are different typography studies I’ve been working on.

Concepts that are working so far:

  • The idea of combining a typeface that dates back to the 1920’s (when the Reuben is thought to have been created) and a more modern typeface
  • The extra tracking in the word W O R L D because it conveys the message of being spread out
I’m not sure how I feel about the stacked wordmarks. I initially positioned them this way because that’s how I’ve been picturing it in my mind. Also, the overall shape is square, which may prove useful later on across different mediums. The next step is developing a pictogram and pushing these type studies in to a collateral identity. My next post will probably be a mood board that expresses the color schemes and graphic feel of the website. Web interface will follow! stay tuned

Leave a Reply

