Thinking with the TYPEwriter

It seems the deeper I venture in to my basement, the further back in time I go. The majority of my basement consists of any objects that hold the most sentimental value throughout my family. Then there are the eventually-giveaways, eventually-fixers, or the eventually-throw-aways-once-enough-decades-have-passed. Anyway, to cut an in depth investigation of my family’s basement short, I found my dad’s typewriter from 1980. By that, I mean I found my dad’s Smith-Corona Galaxie Twelve in sunburst yellow. The bad ass thing still worked too. Talk about longevity *cough* @xbox360. My dad used this ancient piece of technology throughout college and typed his senior thesis on this bad boy, which was 30+ pages in Courier. The only thing I had to do was roll some paper in it and I was ready to go. Unfortunately for me, this model was a few years shy of command+Z. What I typed was exactly what I  got printed on the page. That means no more writing your papers in single spaced first, only to make your double spaced result climactic. You had to plan the layout of your paper before you began typing, whether it was line spacing, margins, etc. Before you hit every key, you had to ask yourself if that’s what you really wanted to say or do. Backwards delete didn’t exist unless you count white-out and your headers and footers were as consistent as the @iPhone4’s antenna signal.

1980 Smith-Corona Galaxie Twelve

The ancient artifact could type in red or black, depending on what ribbon you used. Also, you could set how hard the typebars slapped the page on the platen. You could type with light, medium, or heavy. These are terms classifying typefaces within typeface families today.

I thought it was neat how they only needed ten 5.5″ x 17″ spreads to show the user how to use the typewriter. The vector-eske graphics are really cool, as well as the brown and black ink on the neon yellow paper. Typeface call out anyone?

Leave a Reply

