[Art vs. Design] Type Experiment

This morning I was thinking about how I go to the School of Art & Design. Which lead me to ponder whether artists are designers or if designers are artists. Are you more artist than designer or vice-versa? It may all just depend on how you define art and design.

According wikipedia, (Yes my blog, therefore wikipedia is credible in this instance :-P) art is the process or product of deliberately arranging elements in a way to affect the senses or emotions, and design is the planning that lays the basis for the making of every object or system. So, what does this mean? What does that make me? I declare myself as a space explorer.

Below is a type experiment I did today based on the Dance Marathon at the University of Michigan. If you’re unfamiliar with Dance Marathon at the University of Michigan (DMUM,) it’s one of the largest student-run non-profit organizations in Michigan. Conducting events throughout the year, the group strives to raise both funds and awareness for the children in need of pediatric rehabilitation. The creative and interactive therapies they provide through an allocation of funds to C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital in Ann Arbor, Michigan and Beaumont Hospital in Royal Oak, Michigan enrich the lives of hundreds of children. The culmination of the organization’s effort occurs annually in March, when nearly a thousand students stand on their feet for 30 hours to show their dedication to the cause.

Now to my designs(?) Imagine a graphic shirt with the images on the front and text on the back that read, “What will you stand for?” I believe this is only the beginning of my type journey. I am interested in how far I can push this type before losing its readability and function. I know one of my professors would say that it’s currently too Martha Stewart. I would like to play with the character scale, orientation, and perspective but right now food sounds better. 😀

Leave a Reply

